Getting Settled

Ray’s transition home to St Augustine went without incident.  The VA has helped to coordinate several follow-up medical appointments and has also arranged for additional supplies to be delivered in the near future.  Outpatient therapy options remain unknown at this time but should start back up again soon.  Another home health inspection may be needed to address any potential gaps in care coverage to include respite care options for Ray’s mother.  For now it appears we have everything needed for Ray.

Physically and mentally Ray seems to be doing well.  He is much happier at home than he was in the Neuro program.  Depression is still an issue but is being managed appropriately.  Often during ‘returns to reality’ TBI patients can become more depressed than before when in a care facility.  This is to be expected and Ray’s situation is no different.  He still struggles with the tremor and mobility issues.  His follow-up medical appointments and outpatient therapies should help Ray to better cope and carry on with his limitations in a more constructive manner.

At this time there are no interaction restrictions for Ray.  Visitations are welcome but should be scheduled first with his mother.  We may be able to setup FaceTime / Skype options for him as well for the more remote followers.  Feel free to contact us for more specific details on how to reach Ray.  Positive interaction at this point will help him to get out of the ‘funk’ he is in now and put him on a brighter path.  Progress and updates will most likely be slow for the next few months so please be patient.  Please continue to keep up with Ray on his new life journey.

Ray at Home

Thank you,

Team Ray

3 thoughts on “Getting Settled

  1. Kara, I (we) are so happy to hear that your career path went in the direction of working with TBI patients. And how awesome that Ray was part of that decision. TBI is such a complex, unique disability. I’m glad you mentioned about post traumatic amnesia. Many people do not understand what that really means to a patient’s recovery process. That was such a scary time.
    You can email Ray’s mom to get in tough with him. Artsymarlena (at) gmail.com.

    Thank you for reaching out.

  2. Hello,

    My name is Kara, and I had the privilege of meeting Ray almost 2 years ago. I actually went to UF nursing school the same time he would have been in medical school. However, that’s not how I met him. During my last semester of nursing school, I was assigned to the Gainesville VA. Ray happened to be a patient on the floor I was doing clinicals on. Meeting him had a profound impact on me. I now work as a nurse on a neuro-intensive care unit where I frequently take care of individuals with traumatic brain injuries, among other neurological conditions. The experience of meeting Ray, and seeing the affect that TBI can have, was definitely a contributor in my decision to go into neurological nursing.

    I could tell within minutes of meeting him what a truly unique person he is. Ray won’t remember me, although we had a very meaningful conversation, because he was still in the stage of post-traumatic amnesia when I met him. Despite this, I have frequently thought of him over the last two years. I would like to get in touch with him, if possible, to see how he is doing. I’d like to let him know that there are people rooting for him, even ones he doesn’t know. If I had to sum up what I would like to say to him it would be this :”Ray, I’m glad I met you. You are an awesome person. You’ve been an inspiration for me. I believe in you”

    Most sincerely,
    Kara Mercer

    P.S. To his family: You guys are amazing. Thank you for keeping us updated with how Ray is doing. Make sure to take care of yourself too.

Leave a Reply :)

