Courageous Journey

In our fast-paced lives it’s often difficult to slow down and consider life from the perspective of another with far more troubles than our own.  Hard to believe that 3 years have gone by from when Ray was involved in a serious car accident that left him with a severe traumatic brain injury.  Life for Ray has forever been changed to a new path filled with many new struggles.  Perseverance would be a perfect way to describe Ray now and the progress he has made.

Adjustment to the limitations from his injury continue for Ray despite the multitude of medication and doctor visits.  Any task requiring use of fine motor skills such as tying shoes, shaving or combing hair can be a significant challenge for Ray given the persistence of his Holmes tremor.  While some recovery has been made over the years to ease the tremor it remains a major point of contention in regaining more control in his life.

The realization that more is needed to continue on a path of recovery is now apparent to Ray.  Through his own self-reflection and motivation to overcome his injury Ray has committed himself to participating in a brain injury treatment day program offered through Brooks Rehabilitation.  Coordination on starting the new recovery program are in the works with this possibly starting as early as next month.  Now that Ray has accepted more is needed to recover other than time and medication it is hopeful that more progress is yet to come.

For those that may not know Ray well, his determination to do more with his life becomes evident when interacting with him.  His drive to help others in whatever way that he can is still a major focus.  “Follow your dreams” is often a saying that Ray will use to others in helping to motivate in the pursuit of self happiness.  Even with being faced with major limitations, Ray offers encouragement to others giving us admiration for his efforts.

In the months ahead it will be important to keep Ray busy and focused on his continued recovery.  At times staying positive through all the struggles can be tough for him to accept.  We need to help remind Ray of his courage through the years in overcoming his injury when he is struggling.  He has come a long way on his new life journey and with help he will have a long ways yet to go.

Beach Stroll

Thank you,

Team Ray

7 thoughts on “Courageous Journey

  1. Beaver, you’re my role model still. I’ll never, with any luck at all, ever have to struggle the way you have had to in the last 3 1/2 years, but I still call on you the way I did before your struggle began, every time I need a friend you are still there just the same way you always were since we met 12 years ago in Iraq. Your courage and persistence isn’t drowned out by your hangups and your obstacles. your friendship and humour isn’t diluted by our distance and your disability. Some days I still wish, just as I did years ago, that I could trade places with you and have your outlook on life. God knows I would in a moment If I could. I know how much you have to offer others. I love you Ray!

  2. Thank you for the update on Ray. He had a big impact on my life and school. He was my Organic chemistry and Physics tutor in the library at USF. He also was my coworker at Manatee Glens. I am glad to hear that he is still positive as this is how i remember Ray. He would always push me to do more and better myself through school. He will always be in our prayers.

  3. Spread the word – http://www.huffingtonpost.com/sandra-bond-chapman/changing-a-common-belief-_b_7588400.html

    No longer can we falsely assume that brain injury survivors can recover only for a certain period or that they are destined to regain only a limited number of skills. The potential for improvement is far greater than previously believed possible. With the right interventions, TBI survivors can continue to make progress repairing their brain’s health and their lives for many years. That knowledge should significantly change the way we think about–and address–this enormous public health challenge

  4. Thank you for the update on Ray. I often wonder how he is doing and i still continue to keep hi in my daily prayers that god will be with him and a miracle will happen to make his condition better. God is great and miracles do happen. Keep up the good work Ray.

  5. Thank you for reminding me to be thankful for all the abilities I take for granted. I’m so excited for Ray to begin the new treatment program. Combining that with his can do attitude will produce wonderful results I’m sure.

  6. i saw the same guy twice yesterday riding a big blue 3 wheel bike like the one ray has and thought of him riding his own. Nice synchronicity the next day you post this. Ray is so inspiring and I’m always rooting for him. He’s helped me root for myself so much since the day I’ve met him.

Leave a Reply :)

